What is PINCODE?

A Postal Index Number or PIN or Pincode is a code in the post office numbering or post code system used by India Post, the Indian postal administration. The code is six digits long. The PIN was introduced on 15 August 1972.

Understanding the PINCODE

There are nine PIN zones in India, including eight regional zones and one functional zone (for the Indian Army). The first digit of the PIN code indicates the region. The second digit indicates the sub-region, and the third digit indicates the sorting district within the region. The final three digits are assigned to individual post offices.

Pincode Reference list

First 2/3 Digits of PIN Postal Circle
11 Delhi
12 and 13 Haryana
14 to 15 Punjab
16 Chandigarh
17 Himachal Pradesh
18 to 19 Jammu and Kashmir
20 to 28 Uttar Pradesh/Uttarakhand
30 to 34 Rajasthan
36 to 39 Gujarat
40 Goa
40 to 44 Maharastra
45 to 48 Madhya Pradesh
49 Chhattisgarh
50 to 53 Andhra Pradesh
56 to 59 Karnataka
60 to 64 Tamil Nadu
67 to 69 Kerala
682 Lakshadweep (Islands)
70 to 74 West Bengal
744 Andaman and Nicobar Islands
75 to 77 Orissa
78 Assam
79 Arunachal Pradesh
793, 794, 783123 Meghalaya
795 Manipur
796 Mizoram
799 Tripura
80 to 85Bihar and Jharkhand
90 to 99Army Post office

If this information is of any help to you then please Like us and Plusone us

Your Like and Plusone can help this website to stay alive!!
Powered by Blogger.